NDIA Media Release: Expansion of the overseeing Board

NDIS stories6 months ago by Renee
Will overwrite featured video.
Text on green background. Text says NDIS update.
Will overwrite featured image.

Minister for Social Services, The Hon Christian Porter MP released the following at the end of last year: 

Strong Board to Guide the NDIS

31 December 2016

The Board overseeing the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) will be expanded from 1 January 2017 to ensure it has the disability service, financial management, corporate governance and insurance-based expertise needed to guide the $22 billion scheme through its critical three year expansion to 2019-20.

The new Chair of the National Disability Insurance Agency Board, Dr Helen Nugent AO, is an experienced Chairperson with a history of very senior roles in the financial services, health, energy, resources, education and arts sectors.

Dr Nugent is Chair of the Australian Rail Track Corporation and the National Portrait Gallery of Australia and a Director of Origin Energy and the Garvan Institute of Medical Research.  She was made an Order of Australia in 2004 for services to business, the arts and the community.

She will be supported by four continuing Board members and seven new members, to combine high level experience in governance, finance, risk management and insurance; together with lived experience of disability to provide confidence to the sector that the NDIS will be expertly overseen to deliver for people with disability, their families and carers.

The new members of the Board from 1 January 2017 are:

  • Ms Sandra Birkensleigh: A member of the Reserve Bank of Australia’s audit committee and the Sunshine Coast Children’s Therapy Centre with extensive experience in financial services, risk management and compliance.
  • Ms Robyn Kruk AM: Deputy Chair of Mental Health Australia, who has held numerous senior roles in government bodies, including establishing and working as the inaugural CEO of the National Mental Health Commission.
  • Mr John Langoulant AO: Former Under Treasurer of the West Australian Treasury with extensive experience in the private and public sectors.
  • Mr Jim Minto: A director of the Australian Finance Group and Dai-ichi Life Asia-Pacific with extensive insurance experience.
  • Mr Paul O’Sullivan: Current Chair of Singtel Optus and board member of Healthscope Limited and the St George and Sutherland Medical Research Foundation.
  • Ms Estelle Pearson: Award winning actuary and director of Finity Consulting with extensive experience in the insurance industry.
  • Ms Andrea Staines: An experienced director and advisor on strategic planning and risk management and board member of Uniting Care QLD and Australian Rural Leadership Foundation.

Minister for Social Services, Christian Porter, said the new Board would deliver the right mix of skills to oversee this unique transition period for the NDIS, as it ramps up from a 30,000 person trial to having 460,000 participants at full scheme.

“The NDIS has the Government’s full commitment and that is why I have ensured we have the right mix of expertise on the Board to lead the NDIS through this critical transition phase to the rollout of the full scheme in 2019-20,” the Minister said.

“We need to ensure that the Board has the skills and expertise needed to carefully manage the significant scale, cost and potential risks in delivering the best possible scheme for participants, their families and carers.

“The fact that the new Board provides the right blend of skills and experience is evidenced by the fact that four of the Board members have lived experience of disability whilst other members have long involvement in the disability sector.

“While broadening the skills base of the Board is essential to manage the $22 billion scheme, it’s also important to maintain the valuable continuity provided by the four continuing Board members who have experience of the NDIS.

“I am confident that the new Board will oversee the scheme with the rigor, vision and care required to deliver the best possible NDIS for people with disability, their families and carers.”

The four continuing members of the NDIA Board, who had their terms extended by 12 months last year, are: Professor Rhonda Galbally AO; Mr Glenn Keys; Mr Martin Laverty; and Mr John Walsh AM.

The Minister acknowledged the contribution of the four outgoing Board members: Chair, Mr Bruce Bonyhady AM; Ms Geraldine Harwood; Mr John Hill PSM; and Ms Fiona Payne, whose extended terms end on 31 December 2016.

“I thank the outgoing Board Members for their dedication in helping to take the NDIS from a policy concept, through a successful trial period, and into these first intense months of transition,” the Minister said.

“I look forward to working with the new Board to ensure that the NDIS successfully moves to the next phase in its implementation with full rollout in 2019-20.”

The appointments have been made in accordance with section 127 of the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 under which the Minister for Social Services appoints members of the NDIA Board.

You can read the biographies of the NDIA Board Members